Ex Optimist Sailors excel at RYA Youth Nationals 2016
The Easter Holidays saw the arrival of the premier RYA Youth event of the year, the RYA Youth Nationals. This year the event was held at Pwllheli SC in North Wales on the 2-8th April. Over 270 sailors were entered some for their first event in their respective youth classes and others battling it out for the summer 2016 RYA Youth Squads and team places in this summer competition phase. The week provided some challenging conditions for all the sailors with sailors having the opportunity to show their skills in both light and heavy winds. Youth Racing Manager and Event Director Mark Nicholls had the challenge of having to postpone racing for both too little and too much wind with racing being abandoned on the Wednesday due to 35+ knots of breeze. However by the end of the week enough races were held across the fleets to be able to proclaim Junior National Champions in all classes. More results can be found here: http://events.sailracer.org/eventsites/new- v2a.asp?eventid=204289&templ=
Laser Standard
1st Anthony Parke 6th Matt Whitfield 9th Hamish Eckstein 10th Joe Woodley
Laser Radial Boys
1st Jamie Calder
2nd Jake Farren-Price 3rd Dan Whitely
5th Milo Gill-Taylor 7th George Ford 9th Will Bedford 29er
(Op Nat Squad) (Op Nat Squad) (Op Int Squad) (Op Dev Squad)|
(Op Nat Squad) (Op Dev Squad) (Op Nat Squad) (Op Nat Squad) (Op Nat Squad) (Op Int Squad)
Laser Radial Girls
2nd Clementine Thompson 14th Eloise Tanguy
15th Mila Monaghan
(Op Nat & Int Squad)
(Op Nat Squad)
(Op Nat Squad)
(Op Nat Squad & Zone Squad) (Op Nat Squad)
(Op Nat Squad) (Op Nat Squad) (Op Dev Squad)
(Op National Squad)
(Op Nat Squad & Zone Squad) (Op Nat Squad)
(Op Nat Squad & Op Int Squad) (Op Nat Squad)
(Op Nat Squad)
(Op Nat Squad & Zone Squad) (Op Nat Squad)
(Op Int Squad) (Op Dev Squad) (Op Dev Squad)
3rd Aaron Holman (& Nathanial Gordon) 4th Huw Edwards & Josh Dawson
6th Max Clapp & Ryan Orr
10th Ross Banham & Alex King
12th Max Moyles & James Eales
14th Hamish Taylor (& Rory Rose)
15th Jessie Main (& David Brand)
18th Hattie Rogers (& Orla Mitchell)
19th (Courtney Bilbrough) & Hanna Brant
2nd Jenny Cropley & Emma Baker
3rd Alex Smallwood & James Scott
4th Robbie King (& Marcus Tressler)
5th Dan Atherton & Matt Viney
6th Hatty Morsley & Pippa Cropley
7th James Clemetson (& Will Birch-Tomlinson) 8th Ella Bennett & Emily Gent
13th Vita Heathcote & Milly Boyle

CategoryOptimist News
Write a comment:

Your email address will not be published.


© 2016 International Optimist Class Association.
Design by: Northstar Design

Follow us: